Below the surface

There’s something about truly great short stories (OK- that’s rather subjective!) that touches me deeply, and drives me to immediately reread everything. Perhaps it’s because the first time I might read a little bit too quickly, and miss certain important aspects, but I think it might also be due to some other reasons, which include:

  1. I don’t want to leave the world of the story so soon.
  2. I want to see the way the story is woven together, to inspect the thread and weave of it.
  3. The twist has brought about some new understanding of the events in the story, and I want to reread the story after knowing what happens at the end.
  4. Confusion because I didn’t pay attention enough the first time around and I think I’ve missed something essential.
  5. Various other whims and reasons.

Stories that I have read in the past few months that have encouraged the rereading instinct in me include the following:

Roald Dahl: ‘Lamb to the Slaughter’, ‘The Butler’, ‘Royal Jelly’

Neil Gaiman: ‘The Truth is a Cave in the Black Mountains…’, ‘Click-Clack the Rattlebag’, ‘Snow, Glass, Apples’

John Collier: ‘Are You Too Late Or Was I Too Early’, ‘The Touch of Nutmeg Makes It’, ‘Without Benefit Of Galsworthy’, ‘Ah the University’, ‘Back For Christmas’, ‘The Chaser’, ‘Special Delivery’

Ray Bradbury: ‘The Veldt’, ‘Homecoming’, ‘All Summer in a Day’, ‘The Pedestrian’

Joyce Carol Oates: ‘Where Are You Going, Where Have You Been?’

Shirley Jackson: ‘The Lottery’

Isaac Babel: ‘The Story of My Dovecot’

 

 

 

One thought on “Below the surface

  1. I haven’t read any of these. Thanks for the recommendations. I think I’ll look for the Dahl and Gaiman stories in the library. I’ve found enjoyable the stories published by Flash Fiction Magazine. They are all less that 1000 words.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

