Darkness, Two Flashes, and Poetry

In the last week, I’ve been working on a flash fiction horror story. Don’t want to share too much right now, because it is still in the development stage, but it has a werewolf in it. Not a shiny happy Twilight werewolf though. Something more brutal and unrestrained.

I also submitted a couple of pieces of flash fiction to the NZ National Flash Fiction competition last Sunday. I need to train to compress my meaning when writing in prose, so that when I write a longer piece the language is more precise and accurate too.

Yesterday I joined the Australasian Horror Writers Association. It already seems like a very good decision. Aside from being able to participate in a few competitions without paying a fee, membership gives me a chance to get critiqued by other horror writers, get advice on writing markets for horror and dark fiction, and gives me the ability to read what seems like very high quality horror stories published in their magazine ‘Midnight Echo’. I would really recommend the AHWA to other writers serious about the horror genre (‘deadly’ serious, evil laugh) in New Zealand or Australia.

 

Also, while I was teaching today, C. Day Lewis’ poem ‘Rest From Loving’ came into my mind unbidden, a gift of memory. Let me share these first few lines:

Rest from loving and be living.

Fallen is fallen past retrieving

The unique flyer dawn’s dove

Arrowing down feathered with fire.

The rest can be found in various places. Such as: http://www.tandfonline.com/doi/abs/10.1080/00144940.1948.11481413

One thought on “Darkness, Two Flashes, and Poetry

  1. I am a member of two groups, Illinois State Poetry Society and Prairie Writers Guild. Although local they provide the same sort of services you receive from the Australasian Horror Writers Association. It is good to get to know people who have similar interests.

    Like

Leave a Reply

